Safaricom Ethiopia adds 3 More cities to its Network

Safaricom Ethiopia on Saturday said it has extended its large-scale customer pilot to Bishoftu, Mojo and Debre Birhan cities.

The latest rollout of customer trials raises the number of cities testing Safaricom Ethiopia’s network to eight.

The telco launched phased city-by-city customer pilots in Dire Dawa, Harar, Haramaya, Bahir Dar and Adama cities over the past three weeks.

Customers in Bishoftu, Mojo and Debre Birhan cities will be able to purchase SIM cards and choose their preferred numbers on Safaricom Ethiopia’s 07 prefix.

On Safaricom Ethiopia’s pilot network in Bishoftu, Mojo and Debre Birhan cities, customers will be able to use data services.

The can also make calls and send SMS to Safaricom Ethiopia and Ethio Telecom customers and make international calls worldwide.

“Our phased city-by-city customer trials are now expanding in Central Ethiopia,” said Anwar Soussa, Safaricom Ethiopia CEO.

“As we approach our National Launch in October 2022, the pilots in Bishoftu, Mojo and Debre Birhan cities add to the important milestone towards serving all of Ethiopia,” the CEO added.

The customer pilots in Bishoftu. Mojo and Debre Birhan cities are part of switching on Safaricom’s network and services in 25 cities by April 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *