African Union extends the suspension of four member states

The African Union extends the suspension of four member states.

36th Africa Union leaders summit kicks off in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The leaders discussed Africa free trade area act, food security, peace, and other continental problems.

The coup master of three western and one eastern African countries requested a return to the African Union and extended the suspension of membership rights.

Burkina Faso, Mali, Sudan, and Guinea were suspended from the Africa Union membership because of the coupon of the constitutionally elected government.

The African Union has reiterated its zero-tolerance approach to undemocratic changes of power on the continent.

On the final day of a summit in Addis Ababa, the AU said it would maintain the suspension of Burkina Faso, Guinea, Mali, and Sudan – which are all ruled by military leaders following coups.

The African Union commissioner Mr. Musa Faki Mahahamat, said the AU was ready to help those countries return to the constitutional order of government.

More than 4 thousand people attended the 36th African Union leaders summit that was held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia from 18-18 February 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *