UN sets to review torture convention in Ethiopia

Colombia, Brazil, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Kazakhstan and Ethiopia

The UN Committee against Torture is holding its latest session from 17 April to 12 May 2023, during which it will examine Colombia, Brazil, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Kazakhstan and Ethiopia.

The above six countries are among the 173 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

The countries are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee of 10 independent international experts on how they are implementing the Convention.

The Committee, which has received the respective country reports and submissions from non-governmental organisations and other stakeholders, will assess the six States parties on the following dates at Geneva time:

The review will takes place from 18 April to May 4/2023 in Geneva, Switzerland.

The above reviews will be held in the First Floor Conference Room of Palais Wilson in Geneva.

By ethionegari@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *